Welcome to the webpage of the section Dynamics of Micro and Nanosystems. We study and develop small scale systems that move, for a better comprehension of their physical properties and to apply them for future innovations.To realize these applications, we closely collaborate with industry. Please click on the pictures below to learn more about our group activities and people. 

DMN introduction movie (link)

News and Highlights

Best presentation award for Abhilash

Abhilash received best presentation award of the workshop "dynamics, vibrations and acoustics" in the 22nd engineering mechanics symposium of the Netherlands

Poster prize

Irek won the poster prize at Graphene week 2019 in Helsinki, Finland. His poster was about Gas sensing with porous nanodrums.

Poster prize

Katerina won a poster prize (2nd prize) at the Photonics meets Biology Summer School in Crete, Greece (http://esperia.iesl.forth.gr/~mfarsari/). The poster was on her MSc project on data transfer between coupled resonant drums of 2D materials.

Best lecturer

Farbod has been selected best lecturer of 3mE


DMN celebrated karting grand prix 2019 to experience big-world dynamics.


ERC Starting Grant awarded to Farbod Alijani: Exploring Nonlinear Dynamics in Graphene Nanomechanical Systems (ENIGMA).

New Members

Richard Norte and Gerard Verbiest have joined DMN as Assistant Professors.


Leading Fellows postdoc scholarship awarded to Tomás Manzaneque: Cell mass sensing using hollow cantilever arrays with electrical readout.

New Member

Ata KeĹźkekler has joined DMN as a PhD student.

Nature Communications

Our paper is accepted for publication in Nature Communications

Meet Abhilash Chandrashekar, new PhD student in our group

Abhilash Chandrashekar started a new position as a PhD student in our group from September 2017. Abhilash will be working on a project, in collaboration with industrial partners, that aims at developing a multi-parameter identification tool for atomic force microscopy.

New PhD students

Two new PhD students joined our group: Martin Lee and Makars Siskins.