External Awards Staff, Postdocs and PhD candidates


  • Hajibeygi, H.

    Innovative teaching talent of the year of the Delft University of Technology.

  • Jansen, J.D.

    SPE Distinguished Membership, awarded by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. The distinguished Member award recognizes SPE members attained eminence in the petroleum industry or the academic community. It is limited to 1% of SPE professional members.

  • Jansen, J.D.

    Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty, awarded by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. The Faculty award is made to one academic SPE member each year from nominations from across the world.

  • Farajzadeh, R.

    2018 North Sea Regional Reservoir Dynamics and description Award, awarded by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. This award  recognizes outstanding achievements in or contributions to the advancement of reservoir engineering profession.

  • Gavin, K.

    Winner of the TRA VISIONS 2018 Senior Research Competition for "Analysing the effect of rainfall on railway embankments using fragility curves".


  • Pluymakers, A.M.H.

    Veni grant from NWO for her project "Taking fluid-rock interactions forward: the role of realistic pore fluid chemistry on rock deformation". Read more.

  • Wapenaar, C.P.A.

    ERC Advanced Grant to develop virtual seismology, for example to improve the monitoring of earthquake-sensitive areas. Read more.

  • Dieudonné, A.A.M.

    The Ioannis Vardoulakis PhD Prize 2017 was granted for her thesis entitled "Hydromechanical behaviour of compacted bentonite: from micro-scale analysis to macro-scale modelling". The Ioannis Vardoulakis PhD Prize was founded by the association ALERT geomaterials with the aim of promoting the dissemination of scientific research carried out by PhD students in the field of soil, rock and concrete mechanics.


  • Ruigrok, E.N.

    The 2017 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, awarded by the EGU (European Geosciences Union for his outstanding PhD research and subsequent postdoc work in Delft and Utrecht.

  • Noorlandt, R.P., Drijkoningen, G.G.

    Best Paper Award in Geophysics, awarded by SEG (Society of Exploration Geophysicists) for their paper: A seismic vertical vibrator driven by linear synchronous motors.

  • Neut, J.R. van der, Wapenaar, C.P.A.

    Geophysical Prospecting Best Paper Award, awarded by the EAGE (European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers).

  • Khoshnevis Gargar, N.

    DEWIS Award for the best PhD-research of Delft University over the past year.


  • Bertotti, G.

    Best lecturer of the year of the faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences.

  • Evers, L.G.

    Vidi grant from NWO for his outstanding research on “Probing the changing deep oceans and upper atmosphere with seismo-acoustic waves”.

  • Neut, J.R. van der

    J. Clarence Karcher Award, awarded by the SEG (Society for Exploration Geophysics), given for an excellent contribution to the field of seismic interferometry and for his presentation skills.



  • Wapenaar, C.P.A.

    EAGE Conrad Schlumberger Award for his outstanding contribution to geophysics by giving seismic interferometry a strong theoretical foundation, enabling research for applications in exploration seismology. Conrad Schlumberger Award.


  • Vakili Ghahani

    SPE Ferguson Medal for the best SPE peer-reviewed article from an author under the age of 36.

  • Kroonenberg, S.B & Hoogendoorn, R.M.

    Award of Best Poster Paper from the AASP – The Palynological Society. The poster has been made by 7 authors and the subject has to do with the Wolga Delta, Caspian Sea. It was presented on the 44th Annual Meeting Southhampton, U.K.

  • Wolf, K.H.A.A.

    SPE Regional Service Award.This award recognises his long years of dedicated service to the industry, singular devotion of time and effort to the programme and development of his section and region, and the SPE.

  • Ruiter, J.J. de

    Pro Universitate Award at the Faculty of Earth Science and Engineering at the University of Miskolc in Hungary, granted by the Senate of the University of Miskolc. He received this award in recognition of his outstanding academic and research as well as successful international education management.

  • Rossen, W.R.

    Docent van het jaar / Best lecturer TU Delft 2011.



  • Draganov, D.S.

    Frontier exploration for oil and gas using seismic background noise. NWO VENI grant, Den Haag.

  • Curtis, A., Gerstoft, P., Sato, H., Snieder, R. and Wapenaar, C.P.A.

    Honorable mention for best paper in The Leading Edge, 2006 (awarded during the SEG in San Antonio): Paper 2006: Seismic interferometry - turning noise into signal: The Leading Edge, Vol. 25, (9), 1082-1092.

  • Wapenaar, C.P.A. and Fokkema, J.T.

    Best paper award (awarded during the SEG in San Antonio): Paper 2006: Green's function representations for seismic interferometry: Geophysics, Vol. 71, SI33-SI46.

  • Bruining, H.

    SPE Regional Reservoir description and Dynamics award.

  • Curie, P.K.

    SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum engineering Faculty.


  • Spetzler, J.

    Veni Award.


  • Weber, K.

    EAGE Alfred Wegener Award in recognition of his numerous and outstanding contributions in bringing different disciplines together with practical solutions to very complex problems. EAGE Alfred Wegener Award.


  • Hagoort, J.

    SPE Lester C. Uren Award.


  • Fokkema, J.

    EAGE Conrad Schlumberger Award in recognition of his contributions to the applications of mathematics and reciprocity to geophysical problems. EAGE Conrad Schlumberger Award


  • Dietz, D.N.

    SPE John Franklin Carll Award.