Hajibeygi, H.


Hadi Hajibeygi is Associate Professor and Subsurface Storage Theme Lead at the Department of Geoscience and Engineering of TU Delft, since Jun/2016. From Jan/2013 till June/2016 he was Assistant Professor at the same Department. Hadi holds PhD (with Medal) from ETH Zurich, Institute of Fluid Dynamics (IFD), in 2011. Between 2011 and 2013 he was a postdoctoral scholar at the Department of Energy Resources Engineering of Stanford University. Hadi was also appointed as guest professor at Stuttgart University, Institute for Modeling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems, between Jan/2017 and Dec/2020. He is NWO-vidi Laureate for the project ADMIRE, standing for Adaptive Dynamic Multiscale Integrated Reservoir Earth, which aims to develop a multiscale integrated experimental-numerical framework for enabling undeground hydrogen storage. Hadi is the receipient of Interpore Award for Porous Media Research (for significant contribution in porous media science), Interpore Rosette (significant service to the society), TU Delft most innovative  teaching talent award, and ETH Zurich PhD medal. His interests are multiphasw flow in porous media, multiscale modeling and simulation for subsurface storage and geothermal energy. Since 2022, Hadi is Energi Simulation Chair  holder of Subsurface Storage and Multiscale Modeling. Hadi is Deputy / Science Lead of IEA - TCP 42 on Underground Hydrogen Storage. 

Publication & Press:


  • Dynamics of Solids and Fluids
  • Subsurface Storage
  • Grand Challenges in Applied Earth Sciences
  • Physics of Geo-systems
  • Forward and Inverse Modelling
  • Numerical Methods for Subsurface Geo-Energy Simulation
  • Multiscale Modeling and Simulation


Research Programs

Research Projects

Current Research Team

Postdoctoral Scholars*:

  • Dr. Thejas Hulikal Chakrapani
  • Dr. Hermínio Tasinafo Honório
  • Dr. Maartje Boon
  • Dr. Artur Castiel Reis De Souza
  • Dr. Evgeniia Martuganova
  • Dr. Debanjan Chandra

PhD Candidates*:

  • Ziliang Zhang, CO2 Geo-Sequestration 
  • Willemijn van Rooijen, Underground Hydrogen Storage
  • Mengjie Zhao, CO2 Geo-Sequestration 
  • Kishan Ramesh Kumar,  Underground Hydrogen Storage
  • Leila Hashemi,  Underground Hydrogen Storage
  • Sarah Shokrollahzadeh Behbahani, Induced Seismicity
  • Aleks Novikov, Induced Seismicity
  • Johno van IJsseldijk, Monitoring-Modeling of Subsurface Storage
  • Fanxiang Xu, Mechanics of Fractured Reservoirs

Note *: many of the above researchers are advised in collaboration with many of my colleagues within and outside our faculty. 

Hadi Hajibeygi

Associate Professor

  • Interpore award for Porous Media Research, 2021
  • NWO-Vidi Laureate, 2019
  • Interpore Rosette, 2017
  • ETH Zurich Medal, 2012
  • TU Delft Innovative Teaching Talent, 2018