2018 INFORMS Railway Applications Section Student Paper Award

News - 13 September 2018 - Webredactie CiTG

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 INFORMS Railway Applications Section Student Paper Contest. This year the competition was unusually strong, with many very high quality papers. Fourteen papers were submitted. These papers were each reviewed by multiple judges, and ranked by composition, methodology, and contribution to the literature. The Railway Applications Section is grateful for the assistance of the judges: Carl Van Dyke, Francesco Corman, Javier Faulin, Lingyun Meng, Seyed Mohammad Nourbakhsh, Steven Tyber, and Zhijie (Sasha) Dong. 

The winners of the 2018 Railway Applications Section Student Paper Award are: 

First Prize: Fei Yan; Nikola Bešinović; Rob M.P. Goverde, “Multi-objective Periodic Railway Timetabling”, Technical University of Delft 

Second Prize: Rolf N. van Lieshout; Paul C. Bouman; Dennis Huisman, “Determining and Evaluating Alternative Line Plans in (Near) Out-of-Control Situations”, Erasmus University Rotterdam 

Third Prize: Manuel Fuentes; Luis Cadarso; Ángel Marín, “A Hybrid Model for Robust Crew Scheduling in Rapid Transit Networks”, Technical University of Madrid The winners will present their research at the INFORMS Annual Meeting, 4 November 2018, in Phoenix, Arizona.