Tatiana Filatova one of eight winners of the 2023 Ammodo Science Award

2.8 million for fundamental scientific research

News - 28 February 2023 - Webredactie

Today Ammodo announced that Tatiana Filatova is one of eight winners of the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2023. The laureates each receive a cash prize of 350,000 euros which they can use in the coming years to explore new avenues of fundamental scientific research.

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2023 is presented to eight scientists across the four scientific domains of Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. Among the eight laureates are two TU Delft scientists: Tatiana Filatova (Social Sciences) and Stan Brouns (Natural Sciences).

Tatiana Filatova

A climate-resilient society

Filatova, professor of Computational Economics, (1981) researches the complex dynamics between socio-economic systems and climate change, seeking, among other things, to explore societies' responses to different climate scenarios and distributional impacts (winner & losers) of these choices. A distinctive feature of her research is the use of novel socio-economic data and methods from the social sciences to enrich traditional climate research. For example, using computer simulations parameterised with survey data on human behavior and economic feedbacks, Filatova has shown that gradual poverty traps and climate gentrification may arise in climate-sensitive areas in coastal cities and regions, even in developed countries. 

Filatova says about receiving this award: “I am very happy to receive the Ammodo Science Award! It is an honour to receive this recognition for the work that I am so passionate about. I am excited to use the fundamental knowledge and advances in computational social sciences to address such a vital societal challenge as climate change, which increasingly requires transformations in behaviour, economy and policies guiding how we develop in this ‘new normal’.”

Juliette de Wijkerslooth, Ammodo director: "The search for knowledge based on pure curiosity is indispensable and has often led to major scientific breakthroughs. We are therefore proud to present the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research for the sixth time to eight top scientists who are blazing their own trails. My warmest congratulations to the laureates!"

More information on the laureates and their research can be found at ammodo-science-award.org.

About the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research

Every two years, Ammodo presents the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research to eight outstanding mid-career scientists conducting fundamental research. The Award includes a cash prize of EUR 350,000 and covers all four scientific domains: Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences and Biomedical Sciences. Winners are selected by advisory committees made up of renowned scientists. 

In addition, since 2020, Ammodo has presented the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research in even calendar years, expressing appreciation for research that is internationally recognised, high quality, potentially groundbreaking, and carried out collaboratively.

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2023 will be presented this spring at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

About Ammodo

Ammodo supports the development of arts, architecture, and science by contributing to innovative projects in arts, projects in social and ecological architecture, and cutting-edge scientific research. Ammodo also produces documentaries to increase the visibility of pioneers in their fields. For more information, visit ammodo.org

Read the full press release of Ammodo.