The department of Urbanism is one of the four departments in the Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment of the TU Delft. At the department, approximately  118 members of staff work together on the educational and research activities of Urbanism.

The chairman of the department is Prof. Dr. Maarten van Ham.

The Management Team (MT) of the department consists of the chairman, all professors, the department manager and the office manager . The MT assists the Chairman in making strategic decisions in research, education and organization. 

The department has 6 sections: Urban Design, Spatial Planning & Strategy, Landscape Architecture, Urban Studies, Urban Data Sciences and Environmental Technology and Design. An overview of the section can be found here.

Secretariat Urbanism

Margo van der Helm (Office Manager)
Astrid Roos (support HR & Finance)
Danielle Hellendoorn (support section Education)
Karin Visser (support section Spatial Planning & Strategy, Section Urban Studies and supports the research leaders)
Romy de Man (support section Environmental Technology & Design and Landscape Architecture)
Martine de Jong (support section Urban Data Science and Urban Design)



Prof. Dr. Maarten van Ham

Department Manager

Joost Niermeijer