Meet the Energy Leaders

Providing clean, reliable and affordable energy to 9 billion people by 2050 is one of today's biggest challenges. Some solutions are already in use today, but many will come from the next generation of entrepreneurs, policy makers, engineers and scientists. What can we do in order to rise to this grand challenge, who are the trendsetters in this transition and who is starting this movement? 'Meet the Energy Leaders' is a series of lectures, hosted by the Delft Energy Initiative. It features global leaders in the transition to a sustainable energy system.

Upcoming lectures

2 October - Arash Aazami

Founder The Internet of Energy Initiative - Chairman Universal Right
27 November - Detlef van Vuuren

Project leader at PBL - Prof. Integrated Assessment of Global Environmental Change at Universiteit Utrecht

• More information will follow

12 February 2020 - Olaf Sleijpen

Director (divisiedirecteur) of Insurance Supervision, De Nederlandsche Bank N.V. (Dutch central bank)

• More information will follow

Previous lectures

27 June - Noé van Hulst

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy

20 March - Dr Fatih Birol

Executive Director of the International Energy Agency

21 February 2019 - Jeremy Leggett

29 November 2018 - Paul Smits

CFO Port of Rotterdam

3 October - Rob Roggema

Professor of Sustainable Urban Environments at University of Technology Sydney

8 May - Jeremy Rifkin at All Energy Day in The Hague

President and Founder- Jeremy Rifkin Enterprises and the Foundation On Economic Trends

11 April - Maurits Groen

Co-Founder and Co-CEO WakaWaka

23 February - Roebyem Anders

Chief Mission Officer at Sungevity International

17 November - James Maughan

Senior Executive and General Manager Turbine Airfoil Development GE Power, Schenectady, NY

25 September 2017 - Marjan van Loon

President Director Shell Netherlands

8 June 2017 - Aart van Veller

Founder & CCO Vandebron

7 April 2017 - Peter Molengraaf

CEO Alliander

13 Februari 2017 - Jorgen Randers

Former President BI Norwegian Business School
Full member of the Club of Rome

10 November 2016 - Søren Hermansen

Director, Energy Academy, Samsø
CO2 neutral Samsø Island Denmark

19 September 2016 - Jasper van den Munckhof

Program director Energiesprong program
Board member Stroomversnelling

24 June 2016 - Steven Chu

Nobel laureate, former United States Secretary of Energy, Stanford University

25 May 2016 - Nicholas Ashford

Professor, MIT

13 May 2016 - Vinod Philip

CTO, Siemens Power & Gas Business

4 April 2016 - Henk Kamp

Dutch Minister of Economic Affairs