Mark van Loosdrecht is Professor in Environmental Biotechnology at Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands. He graduated (MSc/PhD) from Wageningen University. His PhD research was a combination of Microbiology and Colloid Chemistry. He was appointed at Delft in 1988 and became Full Professor in 1999. His research is characterized by the combination of scientific understanding of complex systems and development of new processes. Dr. van Loosdrecht’s scientific interests are mainly related to biofilm processes, nutrient conversion processes and the role of storage polymers in microbial ecology. In particular, he is interested in new processes related to wastewater treatment and resource recovery. His research has resulted in several processes currently applied on full scale such as the BCFS process, Sharon process, Anammox process and Nereda process. He is active member of the International Water Association (IWA) and past chairman of the Biofilm and the Nutrient removal specialist groups. He is Editor-in-Chief of Water Research. He obtained several prizes for his work, including the Lee Kuan Yew Singapore Water Prize, Stockholm Water Prize and the IWA Grand Award. He is member of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the Dutch Academy of Engineering (AcTI) and the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He was awarded a knighthood in the order of the Dutch Lion. He has published over 700 scientific papers, has 15 patents and has supervised over 50 PhD students.

Academic Degrees
1985 -MSc Environmental Engineering, Wageningen University
MSc projects: Microbiology (6 months), Environmental Technology (6 months), Colloid and Surface Chemistry (5 months), Swiss Federal Inst. for Water Resources and Water Pollution Control (EAWAG), Switzerland, 4 months
1988 -PhD
Topic: adhesion of bacteria and the effects of adhesion on the microbial physiology. Wageningen University  (promotors: prof. A. Zehnder and prof. J. Lyklema)
2010 -Honorary Doctorate ETH-Zurich, Switzerland
2014 -

Honorary Professor at the Harbin Institute of Technology, China

2015 -Honorary Doctorate University of Ghent, Belgium
2017 -Honorary Professor Zhejiang University of Technology
Awards and Recognitions
  • Knight in the order of the Dutch Lion (since 2011)

  • Fellow of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) (since 2004)

  • Fellow of the Dutch Academy of Engineering (AcTI) (since 2007)

  • Fellow of the International Water Association (Since 2010)

  • Member US National Academy of Engineering (since 2015)

  • Honorary Doctorate ETH Zurich, Switserland (2011)

  • Honorary Doctorate Gent University, Belgium (2015)

  • Honorary professor at University of Queensland, Australia (2010 - )

  • Honorary professor Harbin Institute of Technology, China (2014 - )

  • Honorary professor Zhejiang University of Technology, China (2017 - )

  • IWA Grand Award (2008)

  • Lee Kuan Yew Prize winner (2012)

  • Stockholm Water Prize (2018 )

  • AEESP distinguished lecturer (2013/2014)

  • Simon Stevin Master Award (2013 – 500.000 Euro)

  • Gravitation Award (2013 – 4.000.000 Euro)

  • Spinoza Award (2014 – 2.500.000 Euro)

Professional positions
1988 – 1997           Assistant Professor in the section of J.J. Heijnen, department of Biochemical Engineering, Delft University of Technology
1997 – 1999  Associate Professor at the same department.
1999 – 2002  Anthonie van Leeuwenhoek Professor at TU-Delft
2003 – now  Chair Professor and head of the section Environmental Biotechnology at TU-Delft
2008 – now  Scientific Advisor Water Cycle Research at KWR Water Cycle Research

Mark van Loosdrecht

Full professor, Section Leader