Oceans and seas have the potential to play a significant role in providing clean energy. Ocean energy will supply electricity, drinking water and other products at competitive prices, creating jobs and reducing dependence on fossil fuels. It will reduce the world energy sector’s carbon emissions, whilst minimizing impacts on marine environments. As the interest in ocean energy is continuously growing,  the Delft Energy Initiative (DEI) founded the TU Delft Ocean Energy Platform with the aim to bring together TUD researchers to share their knowledge and learn from others working on this topic.  The various types of ocean energy technologies that could exploit the power contained in our seas, such as tidal energy, wave energy, ocean thermal energy conversion, aquatic biomass and salinity gradient energy were presented followed by an intense discussion between all participants who are working in this field or are intending to do so in the future. Following the enthusiastic and successful meeting, the steering board will get together in the coming weeks to discuss about the next steps to promote and converge the research activities among the TUD community.

Steering Board

Henk Polinder

Wave Energy, Chairman

Berend Jan Kleute

Thermal Gradient (OTEC)

Antonio Larquin Laguna

Tidal/Current Energy

Peter Mooij

Aquatic Biomass

Kornelis Blok


Axelle Vire

Floating Wind Turbines

Adam Candy

Environmental Fluid Mechanics

Lily Li

Senior Project Manager, DEI

Sukanya Prabhudesai

Energy Club Board

Eveline Zeegers

communications DEI

TU Delft Community

Bendriks Jan Boersma

3mE - Process and Energy

Gerard van Bussel

LR - Wind Energy

Piero Colonna

AE - Propulsion and Power

Carlos Infante Ferreira

3mE - Process and Energy

Kas Hemmes

TPM - Sectie Tech.Dynamica & Dz.Ontw

Martijn Henriquez

CiTG - Coastal Engineering

René Huismans

3mE - Ship hydrodynamics

Wiebren de Jong

3mE - Process and Energy

Henk de Koning Gans

3mE- Section Ship Hydromechanics & Structures

Gijsbert Korevaar

TPM - Energy and Industry

Robert Jan Labeur

CiTG - Environmental Fluidmechanics

Eliz-Mari Laurens

CiTG - Offshore wind

Mark van Loosdrecht

TNW - Environmental Biotechnology

Andrei Metrikine

CiTG - Offshore Engineering

Sape Miedema3mE - Offshore and Dredging Engineering

Mathieu Pourquie

3mE - Fluid Mechanics

René Pecnic

3ME - Process and Energy

Julie Pietrzak

CiTG - Environmental Fluidmechanics

Dirk Roekaerts

3mE - Fluid Mechanics

Carlos Simao Ferreira

AE - Wind energy Fluid Structure Interactions

Marcel Stive

CiTG - Coastal Engineering

Tom van Terwisga

3mE - Ship Hydromechanics & Structures

Ad van der Toorn

CiTG - Hydraulic Structures and Flood Risk

Wim Uittewaal

CiTG - Environmental Fluid Mechanics

Merel Verbeek

CiTG - Environmental Fluidmechanics (PhD-candidate)

Jan Willem van Wingerden

3mE - Control