On 26 November 2019, the Executive Board of TU Delft endorsed the Open Science Programme 2020 - 2024, ‘Research and Education in the Open Era’. Over the next four years, the university will further its efforts to make open research and education a standard part of scientific practice.

The programme consists of five interrelated projects: Open Education, Open Access, Open Publishing Platform, FAIR Data, and FAIR Software. The projects are aimed at creating and disseminating various types of resources for the benefit of TU Delft researchers, teachers and students, as well as the general public. They will range from educational materials and software to a publishing platform. All outputs of the programme will be as ‘FAIR’ as possible: findable, accessible, interoperable and reusable.

Each project will address three preconditions for successful implementation: ensuring appropriate rewards and recognition, facilitating fruitful collaboration with third parties, and gathering relevant skills. These are therefore incorporated in the programme as cross-cutting themes for all five projects.

Steering committee

The TU Delft Open Science Programme 2020-2024 is led by a steering committee with representatives form faculties as well as university support services, under the responsibility of vice-rector magnificus prof.dr. Rob Mudde. The Library director is chair of the steering committee.  The other steering committee members are prof.dr.ir. Jan Dirk Jansen, dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences (representing all faculties), and dr. Irene Haslinger, who also chairs the programme team. 

Prof.dr. Rob Mudde

Prof.dr.ir. Jan Dirk Jansen

 (fotograaf Leo den Ouden)

Dr. Irene Haslinger

Drs. A. (Sacha) Kroonenberg