A.H. (Ate) Snijder

A.H. (Ate) Snijder



Ate graduated from the Architecture Master at the University of Delft. In the graduation project, under mentorship of prof. ir. Rob Nijsse, he devloped a series of shell structures with glass as the primary loadbearing material. 

Currently, Ate works at chair of Structural Design and Mechanics within the faculty of Architecture. As researcher he is part of the Glass Research Group ( link) where his focus is on the structural behaviour of glass load bearing components of bridges and buildings. Within the research group he specialises in FEM modeling of stress distribution in glass, detailing of glass connections and structural design with glass. 

Ate also teaches the structural design component of the BSc course BK1TE2, the minor Bend & Break and mentors a small number of BT graduate students with a specific interest in structural glass design. 


The Glass Swing: A joined effort of TU Delft, Schott en Ramlab to realise a demonstrator project for current research. The struts are pre-stressed glass bundels and the nodes are 3D printed in steel.   Video
With Lennert van der Linden and Rob Nijsse.  

The Glass Truss Bridge: As a partial realisation of an ongoing research to make a large span with dry-assembled cast glass components ( link) the glass truss bridge serves as a temporary acces bridge to the Green Village terrain on the Delft Campus. The diagonals in the truss are glass bundles and the connections are cast glass blocks ( link). 

Lees meer




  • 2019-2-7

    Aanmoedigingsprijs/ Encouragement Award

    The TU Delft Glass and Transparency group received the Encouragement Glass Award from Bouwend Nederland. The award acknowledges the importance of fundamental academic glass research to develop new solutions for the future. Through the award, Bouwend Nederland wants to support the efforts from educational institutions towards glass innovations. The TU Delft Glass & Transparency research group consists of researchers from BK Bouwkunde and the faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences.
    Glas Award 2019


/* */