Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences

Stefan Aarninkhof has been dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences since 1 January 2024. Stefan Aarninkhof studied Civil Engineering at TU Delft. His graduation work with the former Delft Hydraulics (now Deltares) formed the basis for his doctoral thesis 'Nearshore Bathymetry derived from Video Imagery'. After obtaining his PhD in 2003, Aarninkhof stayed at Deltares for several more years before joining Boskalis, one of the companies that initiated the ‘Building with Nature’ programme, in 2006. In 2016, he returned to TU Delft to become Professor of Coastal Engineering at CEG. In 2020, he was appointed chair of the Hydraulic Engineering department

One of the focal points of Aarninkhof's research is the development of nature-based adaptation strategies for coastal systems affected by climate change. Since 2022, he has been director of the EcoShape Foundation, a partnership of companies, government bodies, knowledge institutes and NGOs that focuses on the development and implementation of 'Building with Nature' solutions in the field of hydraulic engineering. Stefan sees significant opportunities for research and education of the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences to make a vital contribution to innovative solutions to today's societal issues.

Recent developments such as building with nature, the transition to renewable energy and sustainable use of limited resources, have made our field even more interesting. Within the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences we work on the cutting-edge research and multidisciplinary solutions needed to address the major challenges of our time. The focus on key societal issues such as climate change, urbanisation and energy transition makes our students very attractive to industry partners and government institutions. Stefan Aarninkhof

Secretary: Marije van Veen
T: +31 (0)15 278 7204

Stefan Aarninkhof is also a member of the supervisory board of the Netherlands Centre for Coastal Research (NCK), chair of the Working Group Coast of the Expertise Network for Flood Protection (ENW) and forerunner/member of the Council for Civil Engineering.