e-Refinery Centre

Research Themes: Energy, Chemistry, Bio-process technology

A TRL is a measure to indicate the matureness of a developing technology. When an innovative idea is discovered it is often not directly suitable for application. Usually such novel idea is subjected to further experimentation, testing and prototyping before it can be implemented. The image below shows how to read TRL’s to categorise the innovative ideas.

Click to enlarge

Summary of the project

The e-Refinery Institute combines researchers from across the university to work on developing processes and devices to produce fuels and base chemicals from water, air and electricity without the use of fossil resources. For these processes and devices to replace the current operations, they have to be demonstrated at a relevant scale. The e-Refinery Centre is going to be a place where researchers investigate the scaling of various new processes under relevant scale and conditions - for instance for the renewable production of ethylene; one of the main components for the production of plastics.

What's next?

Through the realization of a e-Refinery Centre the researchers can learn to, experiment and gather new knowledge about how e-refinery installations, set-ups and processes are to be scaled. This Centre will facilitate many innovative ideas to bridge the so called valley of death and reaching the demonstration phase instead of doing only simulations that show that it can work on a bigger scale.

Contribution to the Energy transition?

The e-Refinery Centre will contribute to the transition as it is expected to accelerate innovation of current industrial processes. Process that currently require fossil resources will be replaced by e-refinery processed and tools making our industry more sustainable.

dr. ir. Lindert van Biert

dr. T.E. Burdyny

prof. dr. H. Geerlings

dr. p.b. Groszewicz

prof. dr. A.E.M. Huesman

dr. G. Korevaar

dr. J.W.R. Peeters

prof. dr. A. Ramirez Ramirez

dr. R.M. Stikkelman

dr. M van Veen

prof. dr. M. Zeman

ir. John Nijenhuis

dr. H.B. Eral

prof. E.L.V. Goetheer

dr. R.M. Hartkamp

prof. dr. W de Jong

prof. dr. F. Mulder

dr. M.D.M. Perez-Fortes

Prof. dr. G. Reiniers

dr. A J.J. Straathof

dr. D.A. Vermaas

dr. ing. MJ van Bracht

dr. A. Gangoli Rao

dr. Y. Gonzales Garcia

dr. ir. J.W. Haverkort

dr. L. Jourdin

prof. dr. J.R. van Ommen

prof. dr. Pidko

dr. A.H.M. Smets

dr. P. Taheri

prof. dr. T.J.H Vlugt

dr. I. Buijnsters

dr. V. Garbin

Prof. em. J. Grievink

prof. dr. F. Hollmann

prof.dr. A.A. Kiss

prof. dr. J.T. Padding

dr. M Ramdin

dr. V. van Steijn

prof. dr. A. Urakawa

prof. dr. Westerweel

Faculties involved

  • AS
  • 3ME
  • TPM
  • AE

Additional information