Teachers of the Year 2021 of TNW announced

News - 06 July 2021 - Communication TNW

During an online presentation on 6 July, Dean Paulien Herder and Director of Education Chris Kleijn announced the Teachers of the Year of the Faculty of Applied Sciences. The winners are: Wim Bouwman (AP), Tom Burdyny (MST & CE), Caroline Wehrmann (SEC), Frank Hollmann (LST) and Margreet Docter (NB). Tom Burdyny was also named Teacher of the Year for the entire Faculty of Applied Sciences. He will represent the faculty in the upcoming Best Teacher of the Year election at TU Delft.

In the past year, the Covid-19 pandemic has left an enormous mark on education, Chris Kleijn underlined in his opening speech. Therefore, this year the students were asked which teachers they thought should be rewarded for the creativity and didactic quality with which they adapted their education.

In the videos below, the various study associations reveal who their nominees for the Teacher of the Year Awards were, and why.

Applied Physics
Winner: Wim Bouwman

Video Study Association VvTP

Molecular Science & Technology & Chemical Engineering
Winner: Tom Burdyny (also overall winner)

Video Study Assocation TG

Science Education & Communication
Winner: Caroline Wehrmann

Video Study Association InterSECtion

Life Science & Technology
Winner: Frank Hollmann

Study Association LIFE

Winner: Margreet Docter

Video Study Association Hooke

This year, for the first time, a winner was also announced in the new category for teachers who do not work at AS. The Teacher of the Year in this category is Hegias Mira Bontenbal from Erasmus MC.

The common theme in the reactions of the winners was the fact that this year, even more than in other years, education has been a real team effort. Chris Kleijn and Paulien Herder therefore thanked not only the nominees and the Teachers of the Year, but all lecturers of the Faculty of Applied Sciences, for their dedication, perseverance and creativity.