The Faculty of ME currently comprises seven departments, five of which (BioMechanical Engineering, Cognitive Robotics, Maritime & Transport Technology, Precision and Microsystems Engineering en Process & Energy) are directly linked to practice and to the strengths of the Dutch industrial economy, both today and in the future. The two remaining departments - the Delft Center for Systems Control and Materials Science and Engineering - are primarily concerned with fundamental research and the development of their respective disciplines.

All departments are staffed on the basis of proven academic excellence, whereupon each has the critical mass required to compete at the international level. The departments contribute to the faculty's educational programmes, while also profiling themselves as independent research organisations. All are strong partners within one or more cooperative alliances at both national and international level.