e-Refinery at TU Delft develops electrochemical conversion technology for the sustainable production of chemicals and fuels

The energy transition has far-stretching implications for chemical companies. The Delft e-Refinery institute brings researchers and industrial partners together in order to develop the required technologies and human capital. Researchers in the e-Refinery initiative focus their research on the electrochemical conversion of sustainable electricity, water and air into fuels and chemical building blocks, from the molecular scale to large-scale system integration. Implementing e-Refinery will serve three important challenges that the society is facing: CO2 neutral fuels, seasonal energy storage and a defossilized chemical industry.

What we do at e-Refinery