Martha Deen - winner of the Marina van Damme Scholarship 2018

News - 16 May 2018

On Wednesday, May 16, the award ceremony of the Marina van Damme Scholarship 2018 took place. The jury nominated no less than four candidates for the 9.000 euro Scholarship. Martha Deen, alumna faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences (CEG), is the winner of this prestigious scholarship. With her ambitious plan to map the energy potential of the ocean, she convinced the jury.

Martha: "This really feels like a great support. It is a very nice feeling that my idea is appreciated by others."

The other three nominated candidates, Gianna Bottema, Architecture and the Built Environment (Arch), Preethi Ramamurthy, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) and Rianne Houba, Industrial Design Engineering (IDE), won each the runner-up prize of 2.500 euro, which is made possible by the Fortuna Fund.

The Marina van Damme Scholarship is awarded each year to talented female alumni from TU Delft. This scholarship is made possible thanks to Dr. ir. Marina van Damme. Marina van Damme obtained her Master’s degree at TU Delft in 1953 and she was the first female student to obtain her PhD at the former Technical University College Twente in 1965. With this grant, Marina van Damme wants to enable young female engineers to further develop themselves and to increase their career opportunities. The scholarship is intended to help winners to broaden their knowledge or explore international opportunities in the form of a study programme, internship or project in the Netherlands or abroad.

Want to know more about Martha's plan to map the energy potential of the ocean? Read it here.