DelftRail is initiated to increase the value of advanced research in railway engineering and operations, ensuring a sustainable, robust and future proof railway system. The complex issues in daily practice and the challenges of tomorrow are pursued from an interdisciplinary perspective to facilitate the travellers nationally and internationally.

Four faculties (Civil Engineering and Geosciences - Mechanical, Maritime and Materials Engineering - Electrical Engineering, Mathematics & Computer Science - Technology, Policy and Management) involving eleven departments bundle their strengths and use their knowledge, expertise and network to help railway practice from an integrated approach, closely working with the industry. The institute is supervised by the university Executive Board and the deans of the four faculties, Jan Dirk Jansen (CEG), Prof.dr. Theun Baller (ME), Prof.dr. Lucas van Vliet (EWI), and Prof.drs. Aukje Hassoldt (TPM).