The Extension School and its instructors and staff are the proud recipient of several awards, which highlight our position as Lifelong Learning (LLL) global leaders and providers.

edX Prize

This annual award by the edX global online learning platform recognizes educators for their exceptional contributions to online teaching and learning and who through their courses and programmes continue to inspire and engage edX learners everywhere. Award criteria include: effective and engaging teaching methods, communication and community to support learning, course innovation with an emphasis on learner-centred design, and learner success and satisfaction.


Open Education Ambassador Award

In occasion of Open Education Week, the TU Delft Extension School for Continuing Education annually celebrates one TU Delft lecturer per faculty for their commitment to openly share knowledge and educational resources with the world through their activities in online education and their advocacy of open practices.

Years awarded: 2023, 2022

Education 2.0 Leadership Award

The Education 2.0 Conference reimagines the education space and spotlights disruptive technologies, tools and practices that have the potential to reshape the future of learning. With this award it recognises an exemplary leader who promotes and inspires others in lifelong learning education. The award criteria include five parameters: leader’s reputation, educational background, professional experience, creative thinking, and decisive leadership.

Years awarded: 2022

OE Global President's Award

Part of the OE Global Education Awards for Excellence, this prize is presented by the Board of Directors to an institution or an individual in celebration of their exceptional contributions to the field of open education and their long standing advocacy and contributions to ‘open education for all’.

Years awarded: 2021

SURF Education Award

With this annual prize, SURF – the ICT cooperation organisation for education and research in the Netherlands – recognises people in the field of education (intermediate vocational, higher vocational, and university of applied sciences) who are committed to educational innovation with the aid of ICT and who help making learning accessible for individuals around the globe.  

Years awarded: 2021


In occasion of the 10th anniversary of the international Open Education Awards for Excellence, a special edition Award that recognizes institutions or individuals for their leadership in advancing the UNESCO OER Recommendation (about the implementation of open educational resources) in their own practices.

Years awarded: 2021

The Wharton Awards for Reimagining Education

This prize is awarded by the Wharton School-SEI Centre at the University of Philadelphia, and by QS Quacquarelli Symonds, compiler of the QS World University Rankings. It recognises excellence in educational resources and in new teaching methods that focus on active learning and on using technology to tailor education to individuals’ needs. The awarding criteria is based on three pillars: innovation, impact and depth or scalability.

Years awarded: 2016, 2015, 2014

Open Education Awards for Excellence

These international awards are bestowed by the Open Education Consortium (now OE Global) during its Open Education Global Conference, to reward distinctive open education initiatives and platforms, notable open courses, technological innovations, exemplary leaders in open education worldwide.  

Years awarded: 2016, 2015, 2014

EDEN ‘Best Practice Initiative Award’

Awarded by the European Distance and E-Learning Network (EDEN) it rewards new initiatives that share knowledge and promote best practices in distance and e-learning amongst professionals in Europe and beyond. 

Years awarded: 2016

EMOOCS Outstanding Paper & Video Award

Bestowed in conjunction with the European MOOCs Stakeholders Summit, it recognises top-quality educational research on trends, approaches, methods and developments in digital education and on the future of learning. 

Years awarded: 2016

The Orange Carpet Award

Presented by Nuffic – the Netherlands Organisation for International Cooperation in Higher Education – it recognises outstanding initiatives that promote the internationalisation of higher education institutes in the Netherlands.

Years awarded: 2016