J. Gosseye

J. Gosseye



Janina Gosseye is Associate Professor of Urban Architecture in the Department of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment. Her research is situated at the nexus of 20th century architectural and urban history on the one hand, and social and political history on the other.

After completing her Master of Architecture at St Lucas in Brussels, Janina obtained a Master in Human Settlements degree and a PhD in the History and Theory of Architecture at the University of Leuven, Belgium. She was a lecturer in the History and Theory of Architecture at the University of Hasselt and led post-doctoral research projects at the University of Queensland in Australia and at TU Delft in The Netherlands. For these post-doctoral research projects, Janina received grants from the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and the University of Queensland. From 2018 to 2020, Janina worked at the ETH Zürich Department of Architecture, where she taught a large survey course on the 20th century history of urban design together with Tom Avermaete.


Janina has published extensively on the history and theory of architecture and urban design in international peer-reviewed journals, including the Journal of Architecture, the Journal of Urban History and Planning Perspectives. Her most recent books are: Speaking of Buildings: Oral History in Architectural Research (Princeton Architectural Press, 2019; with Naomi Stead and Deborah van der Plaat), Acculturating the Shopping Centre (Routledge, 2018; with Tom Avermaete) and Shopping Towns Europe 1945-1975: Commercial Collectivity and the Architecture of the Shopping Centre (Bloomsbury, 2017; with Tom Avermaete). Janina has been invited to present her work at academic and cultural institutions worldwide, including the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) in Montréal and the University of Technology (UTS) in Sydney.

Janina is currently series editor of the ‘Bloomsbury Studies in Modern Architecture’ book series (with Tom Avermaete), a member of the European Science Foundation College of Expert Reviewers, Honorary Senior Fellow at the University of Queensland (Australia), and Honorary Member of the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA).

Lees meer



/* */