Four leading EEMCS researchers receive prestigious NAE fellow appointment

News - 09 November 2023 - Communication EWI

Four researchers from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EWI) have been named leading experts and are appointed as fellows by the Netherlands Academy of Engineering (NAE). A total of 62 fellows have been appointed, originating from the fields of technological sciences, applied research and innovation. The fellows focus on fostering an innovation climate that generates societal and economic value by providing engineering-based solutions to major societal issues while offering new business and export opportunities.

EEMCS top researchers

The following four leading researchers from the EEMCS faculty have been appointed as NAE Fellows:

Catholijn Jonker

Catholijn Jonker is professor of Interactive Intelligence at the EEMCS faculty. She has a background in computer science. She is a member of the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen and of the Academia Europaea. Until 2016, she chaired the National Network Female Professors (LNVH) in the Netherlands. Catholijn has been a EurAI Fellow since 2015, and a EurAI board member since 2016. EurAI is the European Association for Artificial Intelligence.

Personal page


Inald Lagendijk

Inald Lagendijk is Distinguished Professor in Computing-based Society and a member of the EEMCS faculty's Cybersecurity research group. He has more than 30 years of research and teaching experience in digital signal processing, including image and video processing, compression, search, watermarking and digital content protection. His current research focuses on privacy-protected signal processing, data sharing, algorithm transparency and meaningful human control over autonomous intelligent systems.

Personal page


GuoQi Zhang

GuoQi Zhang is chair professor for the "Micro/Nanoelectronics System Integration and Reliability" at the EEMCS faculty, a member of Netherlands Academy of Engineering, and IEEE Fellow. His research interests cover multi-level heterogeneous system integration and packaging; multi-physics and multiscale modelling and optimization of micro/nanoelectronics; digital twin and designing for reliability; wide-bandgap semiconductors sensors and components; SSL technology; and their applications mainly in healthcare, energy and mobility.

Personal page



The NAE Mission

Technological progress, spanning from electricity to artificial intelligence, has fundamentally reshaped the world. The smart application of technology is imperative for realising innovations essential for the sustainable advancement of our society, ensuring universal access to highquality healthcare, nutrition, energy, water, and housing. This mission forms the cornerstone of the Netherlands Academy of Engineering. Find out more about NAE's mission here.

The appointment of these 62 fellows marks the formal commencement of NAE's activities. Numerous other countries have already instituted their own national Academies of Engineering, such as the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) and the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (Acatech).


The formal inauguration of the 62 fellows will transpire on Monday, 13th November, at De Nieuwe Kerk in The Hague. In addition to the caretaker Ministers of Education, Culture, and Science and Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, the 4TU.Federation will deliver speeches. For a comprehensive program and registration particulars, please follow this link.

Congratulations to all new NAE Fellows!